HYGGE

One of the first Danish words I learned was “hygge”. Kasper, one of my SRAs (Social and Residential advisors –NOT RAS!!!!) described hygge as “enjoying the moment with the people around you, without worrying about the past or the future”. But, my other SRA Augusta disagreed with the people part and said that she can very well have a lot of hygge on her own. An example of this can be watching Netflix with your comfortable clothes, comfort food and warm bed, she said. Wikipedia defines hygge as a Danish and Norwegian word, which can be described as a quality of coziness and comfortable conviviality that engenders a feeling of contentment or well-being. So, my understanding is that hygge is the upgraded Danish version of cozy. Since hygge has a very important place in the Danish culture, I decided to bring it into my life. I dedicated one day to decorating and arranging my room and just enjoying being in it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

