Is this the real life? Is this just fantasy?

In my last post, I had mentioned that I would be going to an art camp with my sister for a week. We did go and boy, was it something… The camp is in Kayaköy, Fethiye, in the South of Turkey. In the summertime, they prepare weekly programs where each day is filled with an art workshop, a walk/hike to a beach or bay, and finally an evening/night activity. I don’t want to get into detail about what we did each day because words simply aren’t enough to describe the experience… It wouldn’t be fair to the memories…

When you leave your home at a young age to follow your own path, you are always exposed to opinions of so many people on how to do things. It is wonderful to get advice and hear about all kinds of different experiences, but one must know what to keep and what to toss. Coming to this camp, meeting these lovely people, being right in the center of the nature, the hikes, the views made me realize that my mind has been so cluttered that I haven’t been my actual self for a long time. Living and studying in the US is an incredible experience, but the one thing that bothers me the most is how money-focused people are. I didn’t realize how affected I was by that until this summer. This one-week reminded me the power and beauty of emotion. Every memory was about capturing, enjoying, feeling and being a part of the moment. Everybody was so happy, in peace and complex-free. You didn’t have to plan conversations in advance or think about how to approach someone, you just did it. You didn’t have to give an explanation about anything you did to anyone because people didn’t care. In short, it was as far as you could get from the city life.

My sister and I made so many wonderful friends there. I haven’t had such real, fun, honest conversations or laughs in a long time, so this almost felt ‘magical’. Many of the people I met there made me feel this way, it was like I was Alice and the place was my wonderland. Nevertheless, I wish them all well and hope to see them again.

When I was younger I would always wonder why everyone is so upset and unhappy all the time although they have so much. Yet, I didn’t care and always found a way to be happy all the time. Maybe this sounds like a naïve little thought, but I felt that way during this week; I felt like my honest, true self.I feel that going to Copenhagen will be a continuation of this lovely experience. Seeing new things, exploring new places, meeting new people and creating a new life is never the wrong decision as long as you do it the way that suits you. I have a really good feeling about the upcoming semester and I am getting more and more excited about landing to Copenhagen every other day.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

